Cancel a Domain

RSS

Cancel a Domain

Last updated July 20th, 2012

Cancelling a domain means that the name disappears from the Internet. Any associated website or email that uses the cancelled domain name becomes inoperable.

Once a NZ domain name has been cancelled, it is placed in a holding pool for 90 days. While a domain name remains in the holding pool, the legal Name Holder of that domain name can reactivate the domain name. Otherwise after 90 days it will be released for public registration.

Steps to cancel a domain

To cancel a domain:

  1. Select the "Domains" module from the menu on the left.
  2. Select the domain you want to cancel.
  3. Click the 'Cancel domain' link under the "Domain Options" menu. (See Figure 1)
  4. Click the "Cancel domain" button to confirm. (See Figure 1)

Figure 1

Domains


Back to Module Introduction →

Can we improve this article? Suggest an improvement to this article.

Suggest an Improvement

Thank you for helping us to improve this Knowledge Base article. Please type your suggestions below:

Still need help? Get in touch with us.

If you aren't able to find the help you need then please send us a question and we can help you further.